If Only Life Had Alternate Endings…

To put it bluntly alternate endings on DVDs are usually tragically bad. They offer an absurd take on what could have been had a character made a different decision during the course of the story, and most of the time they’re illogical and trite.

But what if alternate endings weren’t limited to DVDs. What if you were given the option to re-live a key moment in your life that would drastically re-shape it? When you think about it life is essentially nothing more than a series of never ending decisions. Do I stay on the couch and watch TV or do I exercise? Do I go out tonight or do I stay in with my family?

The most simple and minute detail of your day that you might overlook could forever change your world as you know it. The simple choice of what dorm I wanted to live in my freshman year of college forever altered my life. I met some of my best friends til this day in that dorm, and they really helped me get through some difficult times during my freshman year. Not to mention the fact that some of the best times in my life happened with my friends in that dorm.

But I didn’t put any thought into what dorm I selected I just picked one. Had I chosen any other dorm than the one I lived in my life would probably be totally different. I can’t say if it would be better or worse, but it would no doubt be different.

And it’s with that realization that I came to the place of pondering upon alternate endings in our reality. Just the idea that I could go back in my history and view what my life would be like had I made one different decision is both awe inspiring and haunting.

Because it’s at that point that you realize that everything you do on a given day has the ability to impact your world in ways you never imagined. If I decide to get up and go for a run I could be mauled by a dog or if I stay in bed in sleep maybe my house might burn down. Life is fleeting and unfortunately there are no alternate endings. So do yourself a favor and make decisions that result in your happiness.

Leave a comment